longing for une promenade

I think I will go for a walk this afternoon.

It has been a while I have not had one of those walks. Those breezy, calm, and oh so deeply fulfilling solitary walks. What the French call ‘une promenade’. What I used to undertake every once in a while, to the nearby lake that was peopled by geese and ducks and assorted other faun. Glimpses of these are still up on my outdated and rusty flicker page.

It’s hard to go for a walk here. This is one of the first things I have noticed since coming here. For one, I am constantly busy. If it is not work -8 to 6 and often 8 to 8, 9, 10 work- then it is company. Purfunctory, necessary, incessant, obligatory, expected company. Yes, that kind of company. If you have lived here for a day, you know what I am talking about. I have never been so surrounded by people and yet been so alone. I miss the crowd that were my own thoughts when I was really alone.

And then, even if there is time, how do you go on a walk here? Walking is more a means of transport than a excercise in self-discovery and thinking. Steps are often hurried and purposeful. There is always the destination looming. The walk itself, the process, is immaterial and insignificant. All roads lead to somewhere. All roads are walked on, driven on, and often driven on outrageously and maniacally.
Every path is beaten here, and these do not appeal to someone who is in love with walks off the beaten path.

I really need to go for a walk this afternoon.

bench

~ by safrang on August 21, 2007.

2 Responses to “longing for une promenade”

  1. I know what you mean. I had that longing too. I usually went to Kabul university or Tapa e Maranjan….

  2. […] here. Actually make that several acute cases of withdrawal. We already tackled the subject of Promenades in another post. Then there is the severe shortage of vegetarian and seafood options here -a […]

Leave a Reply

 
