If I could…

I would throw a big party in Chateau Versailles and invite the following:

Nietzsche,
Todd,
G.W.F. Hamman,
Hafiz,
Socrates,
Pepe,
Jack Daniel and a few of his associates,
Tomo,
Siddharta roused out of Herman Hesse’s fiction (but not the author hisself),
Alexis,
Goethe,
Mephistopheles himself,
Homurlu,
لیلی & Helen of Troy,
Mansoor-i Hallaj,
Li Bo,
Syd Barret at 22,
Colonel Aureliano Buenda on his triumphant return to Macondo,
Rabindranath Tagore,
William Jefferson Clinton,
oh yes Cristina,
عمر خیام
S. Rushdie,
Sakhidad,
Maggie Gyllenhaal (in character from Stranger than Fiction)
Foucault,
the girl from Ipanema,
Massenet,
Strauss (Leo Strauss)
the Pussycat Dolls,
Sepehri,
Madonna,
plus a few other decadent and eccentric types.
(For good measure I would then invite the old foole carrying a lamp in daylight from this Rumi poem:
دی شیخ با چراغ همی گشت گرد شهر
کز دیو و دد ملولم و انسانم آرزوست)
While at it I will also obtain a restraining order against whoever it was that said “Cogito, ergo sum” (I won’t give him the satisfaction that I know his name), and also against Sir Francis Bacon.

Then the rest of us would close the doors and rouse heaven/hell and فلک را سقف بشکافیم.

Then I would have them burn me in Sleepy Hollow and play Massenet’s “Meditation de Thais” at my funeral and throw my ashes to the seven seas plus the Kariz in my village.
During the cremation, with Massenet’s piece in the background, I would request that Sepehri recite the segment of his long poem “صدای پای آب” that starts with “مرگ پایان کبوتر نیست”.

Afterwards, we would all retire to a cabin in the woods on the outskirts of Vienna of circa 1750s.

If only the grandest of wishes could come true.

~ by safrang on April 10, 2007.

4 Responses to “If I could…”

  1. […] Less Courageous Hedonist I was just about to correct the list of guests for my proposed gathering that I heard this heartbreaking news: Kurt Vonnegut has […]

  2. […] it, john lennon just won hisself an invitation to my exclusive party of the […]

  3. […] -مرگ پایان کبوتر نیست […]

  4. […] noticed that massenet’s meditation de thais is the most played song on my itunes. i had once written about how i would like the track played in my honor in sleepy hollow in the presence of some […]

Leave a Reply

 
