Earth Rising

Earth Rising

Watched An Inconvenient Truth tonight. Yes, I am ashamed to say tonight – months after it has been out on DVD, and at least three months after a homeless person recommended it to me in no mistakable terms.

Nothing earth-shattering for me it. I have been a conscientious environmentalist from pretty early on in my student days and recycle like my life depends on it. I sold out and gave into driving only after life became really hard without a vehicle since I graduated.
I also feel a deep affinity to the Aral Sea and every time I see an image or hear a person talking about it, a nameless pain gnaws at my own heart.

***
Earth – home to both the Apollonian and the Dionysian.

***
While watching the documentary, I could not help but be properly shocked at what a different world we would all live in, what different headlines we would be reading, and how differently would this big and powerful country conduct itself in its relations with the rest of the world if Al Gore had won the 2000 US elections. The documentary, which is also somewhat of a biopic, traces Gore’s life and his conscientious politics of environmentalism from early on. As inspiring as it was depressing.

~ by safrang on April 6, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
